Mix your passion with paradise ™

Mexico

Secrets Playa Mujeres Resort and Spa

Adult Only Resort

View Other Resorts Check Availability

Reviews

Alyssa, TX
Dec 11th, 2019 2:11:24pm
I taught an “all-levels friendly” yoga class at 9 am each morning. The first two mornings I only had one student, and then W-Sat I had between 3 and 12. I had several beginners/first-timers, but also many experienced yogis, ranging in age from 20s to 60s. I had lots of great feedback from students each day. It was a wonderful experience!
Elizabeth, Shreveport, LA
Dec 11th, 2019 1:57:05pm
We loved the resort! This was my fourth teaching vacation and we've gone to a different Secrets each time. All have been fantastic! I love the teaching vacation opportunities that Fit Bodies provides!
Venus , Littleton Colorado
Dec 3rd, 2019 12:35:56pm
I taught an all levels Hatha Yoga class sometimes a flow class depending on the ability levels of the participants the time. There were consistently 20 to 30 people in the class. The ages range 35 to 55, with beginners as well as advanced practitioners. About half the class spoke French and the other spoke English, so I did the class consistently with them. The people were friendly and usually the same people were coming to class throughout the week. Mikah from the GO staff was really helpful, when we arrived he met us there and gave me a tour of the property and got us all set up in our room. I felt very comfortable and I truly enjoyed the stay. I will happily go back again.
Janet -Birmingham, Alabama
Nov 10th, 2019 6:51:40pm
I went to the entertainment palapa every morning to get the yoga mats. Class was 9-10am Mon-Sat. Class size 2-8, with participants ranging in age from 30’s -60’s. Most class members had some yoga experience, maybe a couple of newbies. I taught a gentle flow class (suitable for all fitness levels) which included a lot of stretching towards the end of each class. This is a great resort! Fun entertainment team, great food, beautiful (and swimmable) beach. Also, you have access to the Dreams resort right next door, which had some great restaurants and even an ice cream parlor! I wouldn’t hesitate to visit SPM (or for that matter, Dreams PM) again! Honestly, the only problem we encountered was mosquitoes. We were told that they can be bad this time of year. Knowing that, I did pack plenty of OFF. They usually didn’t bother us too much during yoga, but I always brought my OFF and offered it to the class participants. One day when they were pretty bad, we did quit a few minutes early. This was my 6th teaching vacation, and sometimes you do have “challenges” during your classes. I’ve just learned to be more flexible and “go with the flow”. That being said, I think I've become a better instructor thanks to different experiences I’ve encountered on my teaching vacations!
Sue from Denver
Nov 6th, 2019 12:26:53pm
Taught over the Halloween week. One yoga class at 9.00 AM at the wedding gazebo. Class size increased from 2 to 11. Nice beach and good food. Entertainment team were super fun. I recommend that you take bug spray as mosquitoes are often bad here. Other than that - a great resort.
Alyssa from Texas
Jul 23rd, 2019 4:03:48pm
I taught yoga at this WONDERFUL resort in June 2019. One class (45-60 min depending on the sun/heat) at 9 am at the wedding pavilion. I would highly recommend a teaching vacation at SPM to anyone considering it. A few thoughts: The entertainment team manager, Gabriel, is great! On Sunday when we arrived, he showed me where mats are kept for me to carry over to class location. A few mornings the supply closet was still locked, so I called the concierge for an e-team member to open it for me. My classes had between 2-12 students each morning. I had several people with yoga experience, but more were beginners, for sure. I went for a 'gentle flow' feel for my classes. I also joined the Facebook 'fan page' groups for the resort and promoted my classes that way. Those groups are also great if you have questions about the resort. I can't wait to come back!
Michelle
Jul 1st, 2019 5:19:36pm
Another wonderful Secrets property. Taught one class at 9am. Very well attended 15-20 yoga participants daily, gorgeous weather but it did get quite hot by 9:40-45. Definitely hot yoga by then! Resort is beautiful, the golf carts to get to gym, restaurants, and Desires were always quick to arrive. Food was great! Lots of exciting fun entertainment both at the pool in the afternoon and in the evening as well. Beach was well maintained and ocean swimmable. Great resort!
Donna
May 8th, 2019 2:41:56pm
Taught yoga week of 4/28/19. 9am class (did 45 mins because the sun gets so intense at gazebo location). Wonderful resort. Beach, pool, room and service was top notch. Good food and top shelf liquor. Weather was perfect and no bugs! Long, beautiful white sand beach!
Jenna Kadlec
Apr 22nd, 2019 12:39:58pm
I experienced my first teaching vacation at this fabulous resort April 7-14 and enjoyed every minute! Upon arriving at the resort, I did request an upgrade, but was told they were at near capacity for the week. My husband and I were told we could check back later in the week to make another request if we would like. We ended up staying in the same room for the week. The person checking us in directed me to speak to the concierge regarding my inquiry to meet with someone from the Entertainment Team to discuss details of my responsibilities for the week teaching yoga. She seemed confused, but after a couple phone calls, she was able to connect me to Gabriel, the head of the resort's Entertainment Team. I met with Gabriel a couple hours later after my husband and I got settled in our room and got a bite to eat. He talked to me briefly about teaching yoga, showed me where the yoga mats were, and answered my questions about my responsibilities. He told me to teach my class daily at 9am and said I could decide how long to teach the class. The first day I taught a 60 minute class. Subsequent days, I taught 45 minutes because I felt 60 min got a little too long. I had 10-20 people daily, often the same people attending my class every morning. The students' abilities varied quite a bit, so you have to be comfortable providing a lot of cueing and adjusting your class and offering modifications. The students were so pleasant to teach! Many approached me and complemented me on my class which was so nice. We had a few days in which it was extremely windy, which posed a challenge keeping the yoga mats and towels in place, but everyone tolerated this. The ocean backdrop was gorgeous! I usually went down to the location where I was teaching yoga about 30 minutes before the start of class. My hubby attended my classes and helped me every morning to gather all the yoga mats and towels to bring to the area. I always asked the bartender for 6 or so bottles of water to have on hand to offer people who didn't bring their own. After class, my husband and I brought the yoga mats back to storage and I asked the students to kindly dispose of their water bottles and towels. One morning a person from the Entertainment team helped me return the mats. The resort was lovely! I enjoy the beach the most and it was gorgeous. We never had trouble finding a beach chair. Bar service at the beach was great. By very early morning, all the pool chairs were "reserved" by people playing the towel game. This is very common at resorts like this and is annoying, in my opinion, but I wasn't surprised. We enjoyed the food at all the restaurants and the service was always spectacular. We noticed that not many people tipped here, but we always bring over $100 worth of 5's and 1's to tip the maid, bartenders, waiters, bell-staff, etc... The employees work so hard and deserve the tips. Overall, I couldn't have asked for a better experience for my first teaching vacation! I can't wait to do another, and, although I want to check out other resorts/countries, I wouldn't hesitate to return to Secrets Playa Mujeres!
Barb King
Feb 18th, 2019 7:45:22pm
Just returned from teaching at Secrets Playa Mujeres. Second time teaching at this resort - (Three years ago when I taught, I was scheduled to teach two morning back to back yoga classes); this time - February, 2019 - they scheduled only one yoga class at 9AM every morning. The classes were well attended, and the participants are from both Secrets and Dreams (next door). It's a great location to teach , as it overlooks the beach. If it rains, the yoga is held in the covered gazebo (where they keep the mats - It's a small area, but not as many people come out when it rains.) The resort advertises the 9AM yoga class on the ipad, and on the daily activity boards. They also put up the fit bodies poster advertising the class - which was nice. I loved this resort, food was excellent, beach is beautiful - great for long walks and fun for swimming. It is also nice to have access next door. Thank you.
Kelly, Michigan USA
Feb 8th, 2019 11:53:53am
Booked as Yoga Instructor. Manager reviewed my resume before meeting with me. Asked me to handle Yoga 9am overlooking the ocean and Noon Aqua Aerobics in the pool, since my resume showed that ability. Had good turnout daily. 5-7 persons for Yoga even when it was raining out and about same with Aqua Aerobics, but up to 15 participants for 1 class (when it was nice out).
Jackie.
Feb 8th, 2019 11:36:18am
I taught one yoga class per day at 9 am. The first day nobody came. The rest of the time it ranged from 1 - 4 people. I taught at the wedding gazebo overlooking the water which was absolutely beautiful. The shade from the gazebo helped as it got very hot in the sun. We had to move the mats during the class to stay shady. I put my flyer by the pool and the staff advertised class during the day as well as put it in the daily activities in the tablet in the roomThis was my first teaching vacation and it exceeded my expectations! The resort was beautiful and impeccably maintained. The food was delicious. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. I taught my one yoga class in the morning and had the rest of the day free to relax on the beach all day. It was exactly what the doctor ordered!.
Lisa
Feb 8th, 2019 11:12:33am
Secrets Playa Mujeres is a nice resort, combined with Dreams next door, one wants for no amenities. Each resort offers a slightly different vibe and its nice to pick and choose from both locations from day to day. The beach, while nice, is not on par with those further south. The water here is dark, poor visibility, seaweed etc a far contrast from the turquoise, crystal clear waters father down the coast. The staff brings a visit to technicolor with their warm, authentic and open personalities. Luis in the Market Cafe and Julio in the Japanese restaurant were by far the standouts, as was Josue. Be sure to tip the staff. We observed only a few guests tipping after receiving friendly, attentive service over long meals. We tipped about $3 at breakfast and lunch and $5-10 at dinner, $1-2 for bartenders, $1 for golf cart shuttles.....It meant the world to these individuals to feel appreciated. Also consider asking for their managers while at your table and tell the manager how much you've enjoyed a server. Being gracious and tipping a few dollars here and there goes a long way.
Elissa
Sep 4th, 2018 8:07:08am
Fabulous resort. I taught every morning at 9 AM in a gazebo overlooking the ocean. Occupancy was low so classes were small but we still got our bliss on. The entertainment crew is so talented. Every Secrets I've visited has the same standard of EXCELLENCE with their own flavor. One of the things you must experience is their buffet lunch with a teppanaki chef and all the fresh seafood and vegetables you can think of for him to make you a tasty masterpiece. Having Dreams next door just expands your options for fun, food, shows etc
Andy G
Jul 29th, 2018 10:48:23am
Yoga Classes are at the Gazebo near the pool, with mostly shade but some sun. I taught Yoga class every morning at 9 am. Class size ranged from 4 to 10 people. Almost every day were new people who had just arrived at resort. My flyer was put up on a board in the pool area and fitness center. Yoga is also listed in the "sundial" schedule located on iPads in every room. Wonderful experience teaching at this resott. Great staff / very helpful!
Alison from Houston
Jun 28th, 2018 10:37:48am
Classes are located ocean front at the Wedding Gazebo, beautiful view and plenty of room for shade or sun. I taught one Yoga class every morning at 9 a.m. A massive tropical storm came through Wed through Sat - so attendance was rather low. Biggest day was 7. Policy is to cancel for rain, but Ross accommodated the guests requests and we moved to a covered pavilion area one morning. It was perfect.The Entertainment Staff are all very personable and helpful and quite open to the guest instructor's suggestions. The Sundial daily activity schedule is now only on the I-pad in your room which many guests don't look at. So promote your class every day and every opportunity and folks will come!
Christine Memphis
Jun 5th, 2018 12:06:31pm
I taught two classes back to back one at 8 and one at 9 am. Pilates and Yoga at the gazebo by the beach. I have 2 to 15 people. I was required to get the mats and bring them to the teaching spot and take them back.You had music for these type classes piped in during the morning hour. No music required form me.This was my second time to teach at this resort it is a wonderful resort with the entertainment team being very helpful and energetic. The food, drinks and layout of the resort are always wonderful. It is also great because you can visit next door at dreams to you have many options for restaurants and slides, dolphin encounter etc...
Sherrie, North Carolina
Jun 5th, 2018 12:02:54pm
I taught Yoga daily at the gym. Yoga was the first class followed by Bootcamp or Kickboxing. Yoga was better attended. I had anywhere from 3 to 9 participants for Yoga. Bootcamp had 4 and Kickboxing had 4. Secrets resort is next door so some days they advertised over there for people to come and join the classes with was great. I had 4 people from Secrets who came daily. I made wonderful friends from France, UK, New York and California.They had mats and small towels available as well as bottled water. Nelson was the new gym employee and joined me on the days he was working. He gave me his personal blue tooth speaker to use for the week with my phone music. The spa did have music playing below us so one day I just used that music. The room was spacious and air conditioned and you can turn off the TVs for a better yoga atmosphere.Dreams Playa Mujeres is a beautiful property and amazing staff. It was a pleasure to join them for the week. I highly recommend. It was nice not teaching in the sun for a lovely change. (although I love the sun too)
Teresa Colorado
May 3rd, 2018 12:24:41pm
Pilates 8 am, yoga 9 am. Monday through Friday and just 9 am yoga on Saturday. Averaged 6. Beautiful spot under a gazebo looking out to ocean.Wonderful resort! Super friendly staff! Loved my stay. Will definitely be going back.
H. Kix
Mar 12th, 2018 4:31:15pm
This resort was small but with access next door to Dreams I loved this place! I taught a 9:00am Yoga (with 2-5 attendees) and a 11:00am Aqua Zumba which was highly received after my first song. This is a quiet resort so I really thought that I'd have huge yoga classes and small Aqua Zumba classes (due to the noise of the music), but once I was clapping and moving on deck people started to swim in and join. Each Aqua Zumba class I had 8-16 attendees but since I taught on the main deck mid day it was HOT HOT HOT. For my yoga classes, I had to carry the mats quite far to the class location under the gazebo overlooking the ocean. They don't have many mats so I am glad I didn't have to make multiple trips. Overall classes were great and I was done with my day by noon so it was wonderful. Also a fellow FitPro who I am friends with stayed next door at Dreams so we were able to hang out all week together and it was great! I would highly suggest this resort to multiple pros!
Kathy
Jan 15th, 2018 11:41:53am
I taught at this location from Dec. 10 to 17th and LOVED it!!! I taught every morning at 9 am boot camp. I generally had between 2 and 6 people. The entertainment team and victor from the gym were amazing. I taught on the tennis courts outside of the gym which was perfect. I wonder how they would feel about shorter duration classes? I think 2 - 30 minute boot camps (or 30 cardio, 30 sculpt?) may have been better than 1 hour. Many people coming to the classes aren't regular exercisers and the 1 hour class was too long for them even with significant modifications. The staff was very welcoming and happy to have me. The entertainment team asked for my feedback on their aqua fit classes. I would definitely return.
Amy Bertram
Nov 28th, 2017 10:02:47am
I taught at 8 am every day in a boot camp format. Veronica runs the E team for all practical purposes. I never saw or met a Jesus, who was the person I was instructed to meet with. I loved the resort (except for all of the construction next door). Victor, who works in the gym, was great about telling people about the class and encouraging them to come. But even though I asked Veronica about getting on the tablet a couple of times, it only was on there once. She was very nice, but didn't seem to mind if it was not on the schedule. We still had a wonderful time, as we could round people up that morning who were at the gym anyway. I had between 1 and 10 people every day. Only one person came from the E team on my first day, and that was it.
Sharon Dwelley
Nov 15th, 2017 3:27:01pm
I taught a morning bootcamp class at the gym. Attendance ran from 2 people to 6 people. Unfortunately, the class was never included in the Sundial newsletter or the room ipad. I requested every day to have it included. I got participants through word of mouth and recruiting people at the resort.I feel blessed to be part of this program. My experience in meeting guests and employees at the resorts has been wonderful. I still stay in touch with people I have met over the years at my teaching vacations.
Carolyn M
Jun 27th, 2017 11:17:54am
I taught Boot Camp in the resort gym at 9 am and Zumba by the pool at 11 am. Boot Camp was not included on the schedule of activities until Tuesday, and I only had two participants the entire week, both attended Thursday's class. The number of Zumba attendees ranged from 3-12; lots of sun and very hot, so I taught Aqua Zumba by the end of the week. The E-Team was great at generating interest in the class and participated all but Friday.
Adina
Jun 27th, 2017 11:15:55am
I had a great experience with the very profession and FUN staff at Secrets Playa Mujeres. I taught a boot camp at 9 am each day. I had around 1 - 4 participants.Loved this experience and really enjoyed meeting the guests.

Search Travel Spots

X

Secrets Playa Mujeres Resort and Spa