Mix your passion with paradise ™

Mexico

Dreams Sands Cancun Resort and Spa

Family Resort

View Other Resorts Check Availability

Reviews

Christy
May 21st, 2022 11:20:18pm
Yoga class is on the pavilion. I used my phone and my own portable speaker. The Entertainment team announced my classes, I walked around and invited guests to join, and on the Activity Board. The hotel staff and entertainment team made the vacation. They made me feel like I was appreciated and I made wonderful friends with all of them. This teaching vacation was paradise. I loved teaching the classes. I participated in all the activities and had the time of my life. This is the best opportunity for fitness and health professionals! This vacation was perfect from beginning to end.
Paula
May 2nd, 2022 2:59:11pm
The yoga class is in the gazebo. The staff are wonderful! I loved it! I plan on doing this again. A couple times I was on my own to put mats and towels together but often the E-Team member was around to help and also participate in classes. My class is well advertised and I love telling guests about my class and inviting them to join. Wonderful situation and resort. REally great!
Alyssa
Apr 16th, 2022 7:56:43am
I taught yoga on the covered stage between hotel and beach. They have mats & towels, and no music was really needed. I loved the time to relax, rejuvenate and spending good time with my family! I look forward to booking again. Hotel staff was very nice. Mats were always set up and waiting for me. I left a review on the teachers Facebook page. Very easy to travel. Finding transfer service was easy. Never felt unsafe health-wise.
Julie
Oct 11th, 2021 12:37:12pm
Hi I taught yoga, Poolside in front of beach. They have Mats, towels.I loved the whole luxury vacation!, Spending quality time with my companion/family, The beachThe ET, led by Ana, was so helpful and positive. I got to know some of them (Jennifer, Osi, Pedro, Ivan, Jose, etc.). I offered to help with other activities, but they tried to make me enjoy myself and not worry about it.
Brandy
Aug 18th, 2021 7:09:17pm
I taught Yoga on stage by the beach. They have yoga mats, towels... My location didn't change and I used my iPhone and brought my own bluetooth speakers. I loved my students, The ease of the booking experience, Spending quality time with my companion/family! Really, it was smooth as butter. Thank you! So much gratitude! Can't wait to book gain, within 6-9 months Hotel staff were over the top kind and helpful always, entertainment staff fun to work with and take classes from. Exactly what a teaching vacation should be! Booking was super easy online. Fit bodies staff were super helpful and easy to reach when I had questions booking back to back teaching weeks. Kind and patient during all of the Covid complications.Check in was quick and rooms were awesome. The entertainment teams were friendly and fun. It couldn't be a better combination, teaching at the most fabulous resorts while enjoying a memorable vacation with family. So much gratitude for the opportunity!
Anna
May 12th, 2021 2:34:05pm
The entertainment team here was the absolute highlight of my trip!! They were all so nice and welcoming, and really appreciated that I spoke a small bit of Spanish (even though they spoke great English). I had heard about Fit Bodies through a fellow yoga teacher, and it almost sounded too good to be true, but it's not! I run international yoga retreats for a living so I have high expectations of things on a vacation to be organized and well-planned, and my (very high) expectations were exceeded. The entertainment team at my first teaching gig was incredible, and they practiced with me every day and helped me set up. They treated my friend and I like we were celebrities, always stopping to speak to us when they saw us around the resort. I loved joining in some of their other activities and they did a great job promoting my classes. I really put myself out there promoting my class during the week and went from just a few participants up to 14 on one day - I made some friends and memories for life on this trip and can't wait to go on my next one!
Lacey
May 12th, 2021 11:14:25am
Pros/Tips: *8 a.m. class daily then freedom for the day. *The crepes in Coco Cafe M-F are delish (nutella and strawberries!). *The fresh smoothies in the Baraccuda Bar (right next to where you teach), are a must. Anything mango--they taste like candy that's good for you. They close promptly at 10 though, so get it right after class. *The beach is great for little kids. Shallow and no crazy waves. *If you're up for an adventure, at the beach take a right and walk down past the lighthouse (you'll have to walk through the Hyatt resort but you'll walk past dolphins!). Past the lighthouse is one of the most beautiful beaches I've ever been to, ever. Pack sunscreen and swim. It's where many of the locals swim. It was one of the best parts of my trip. Just as nice of a beach as Isla Mujeres. I was sad we found it the day before we left. *Isla Mujeres is so fun! I've done both the catamaran (booked at the resort) and going on my own. I personally prefer doing it on my own so I can take as much time doing what I want or is most fun that day. To go on your own--take a bus. To do so, just walk out the front doors of the resort and hang a right. Walk about 100 yards to the bus stop. It's $1/person. Tell the bus driver you'd like to go to Isla Mujeres. He'll tell you where to get off, which is only 2 stops away but it's far to walk in the heat, so you'll want to take the bus. Then buy your ferry pass ($22/person round trip). Rent a golf cart once you get to Isla (there will be people there to help you find it. $30/2 hours or $45/day)...so many fun places to explore. The furthest south tip has spectacular views (and buy a homemade churro or drink straight from a cold coconut). The souvenirs on the south tip were the cheapest I've found in Mexico, you don't have to feel pressured or even dicker, which I'm always grateful for. When it's time, turn in your golf cart, then swim on the beautiful beach on the north side of the island, eat fish tacos, then watch the sunset as you take the 5:30 or 7 p.m. ferry back. Jump on the bus on the way back to the hotel for $1/person. I've been 5 times to Isla, it has always been mine and my guest's favorite part of the trip. It's just such a cool experience. *Right across the street from Dreams is a wonderful spa. Their prices are excellent for massages, nails, facials, waxing...and you're supporting more locals rather than a big company. Safe and friendly. I took myself and my 3 kids under 13 and we all had something done. It was a fun experience. *If you'd like to swim in crazy waves, outside the hotel, take the bus heading south and get off at Playa Delphines. It's breathtakingly beautiful and the waves are a blast. NOT for small children because it can be dangerous if you're not a strong swimmer. Great for boogie boarding or just riding waves in the turquoise warm water. Cons: *The beds are only full size for a double room. This was tough for 2 to a bed. *The rooms do not have a balcony and it's an older resort so the rooms smell like mildew. I still can't get the smell out of my clothes, 2 washes later. You can upgrade to a balcony for $45/night. *This was my 5th teaching vacation, and not my favorite. It is centrally located and I loved only 1 class/day, but it was not as nice as other resorts I've taught at. More along the lines of a Sunscape.
Kristy
Apr 14th, 2021 12:31:33pm
I taught yoga on a deck facing the beach. I connected my IPhone to my bluetooth speaker, but music isn't necessary outside - great soundtrack already built in!! I love the time to relax and rejuvenate, plus the beach is great. The staff and especially E-Team are great and easy to work with and made it a very enjoyable experience for me. Thank you so much, especially Charlie! This was my first teaching vacation and amazing. Can't wait to travel again!
Anne-Marie
Mar 24th, 2020 8:05:49am
This hotel is not a good place for zumba. I went there in August 2018 and the zumba was at 8:30 am. I had to reduce the volume because client were sleeping and anyways I had max 3-4 participants. The hotel itself is amazing, the beach is like paradise. The food and drinks are exceptional.
Kristy Hegrenes
Feb 6th, 2020 4:58:51pm
Dreams Sands Cancún was an excellent teaching vaca, and it was my first one. I taught 1 hour-long yoga class at 8am M-Sat. I taught it on their platform overlooking the beach/ocean. I had about 5 - 10 or more participants everyday. Definitely needed to do yoga with them because of the different languages present, but it was no problem and everyone seemed to be able to participate just fine. Charlie (Carlos) was my main contact while I was there. He brought out the mats everyday and I brought over towels. Towels weren’t really needed, but nice for people who wanted to use them. They let you do your thing and we’re easy to work with. Just make sure to speak up if you need anything, they’ll help you! I brought my own music... just hooked my iPhone to Bluetooth speaker and that worked well. The resort has their own music playing in the background, but it wasn’t a problem. I suggest laying out all the mats (facing the beach). It’s welcoming for people especially if they want to join in a little late. The beach is amazing! Food was pretty good, and the service from the staff was great. We felt very well attended to and taken care of. I would definitely recommend this resort, especially as a first time teaching vacation.
Christina, Atlanta GA
Dec 11th, 2019 3:54:00pm
This is a great resort with a very friendly and cheerful entertainment team. This would be a good first experience for an instructor but also was great for someone like me who has done several of these trips. I would suggest having a few useful Spanish stretch/yoga terms ready because you get a mixed group of English- and Spanish-speaking guests. I had a wonderful time!
Yes taught Tabata style bootcamps was awesome. Brought my own speaker and music as th
Dec 11th, 2019 2:23:47pm
I taught Tabata style bootcamps was awesome. Brought my own speaker and music as they had quite music by pool. We started with warm up on beach then was by stage where pool was located. Lou the Entertainment staff was so awesome and helpful. Loved all staff.. will definitely be back as me and my kids had a blast.
Jen Noel
Jun 26th, 2019 2:05:39pm
Taught Tabata style bootcamps was awesome.Lou the Entertainment staff was so awesome and helpful. Loved all staff.. will definitely be back as me and my kids had a blast.
Michelle
Jun 25th, 2019 12:29:10am
Hola! Had a great time teaching at Dreams Sands. One class at 8am to avoid that hot hot sun! I had smaller class sizes here probably about 4-6 and taught on the deck by the pool overlooking the beach/ocean. What a treat that all the rooms are oceanfront! We upgraded for a balcony. Lots of restaurant options for being a smaller property including one adult only which was nice. Luis of the E-Team was excellent. He came to yoga almost everyday! Entertainment was great- violinist, acrobatics show, casino night—plus the NBA finals were on so they were accommodating so guests could watch that. The ocean is the best playground there! You can wade out pretty far and it’s shallow. Bring a raft to relax on! Ocean volleyball, inflatables, plus a soft sandy beach. Convenient location on the hotel zone and spectacular ocean views and sunsets.
Bridget
Jan 29th, 2019 10:04:59am
This is my 4th time teaching at Dreams Sands and continues to be a wonderful place to teach. Pros: one class (8:00 am), beautiful location, best beach if you like calm warm crystal clear water, restaurant food was great every night, best e-team to work with (Luis is my favorite manager that I have ever worked with), attentive and very personable staff. Wifi worked great all week, weather was perfection (traveled early January), house wine was wonderful, beach was clean, pools were clean, hotel in general was clean and well kept, room AC was adequate, rooms were cleaned well, food was fresh and the hotel continued to feel very safe and well-watched by their security staff Cons: a family of 4 in a double room is a tight squeeze, plus adding my 16 year old daughter (because she is considered an adult) was an extra $150.00/night, ouch). The double room is two full sized beds so three full grown adult bodies and an 8 year old was tough for sleeping. The bathrooms are so tiny it was hard to change clothes in and the bathroom to room divider was still only partially opaque, so, not very much privacy found. The yoga platform was enough for about 8 people or so and I had max patronage every morning. Some people had to leave because it is up high now, on a raised deck, so no one could even scoot off to the side to participate. However, the raised platform was nicer for a quieter experience (less passers-by) and the views were quite lovely so all in all I totally understand why they moved the teaching area.
Victoria
Jan 20th, 2019 6:29:45pm
Booked a last minute trip in November and was surprised how much I enjoyed this Dreams resort! 1 morning yoga/Pilates class a day makes this the easiest teaching vacation I have ever done! Staff was overly accommodating and easy to please food was fabulous location very central to everything. Traveled with just my husband so we were concerned about lots of kids and although it was mostly families they were never an issue. Beach is small but beautiful and calm with crystal blue waters. I would return here in a heartbeat :-)
Holly
Sep 15th, 2018 7:06:06pm
We absolutely loved Dreams Sands. We traveled with family and upgraded to Preferred Club and found it spectacular. I taught each morning at 8:00 a.m. Luis from Entertainment took my class every morning. On arrival we were met by entertainment and showed around the resort. They gave me a day off to go on an excursion with the family (per their request) :) We went to Xensus which was AWESOME!! We will return...
Cheryl from Michigan
May 23rd, 2018 10:49:18am
This was my 6th or 7th teaching vacation, and not my favorite! The entertainment staff was extremely organized as far as their activities schedule and had something planned for every hour of the day! Great for guests, but Unfortunately, as a traveling zumba instructor, my only available time slot was 8am! (Not that I minded the time...it's just not a popular cardio time for vacationers...but a better time slot for yoga or stretch) I was told to keep The music level (not suprisingly) turned down, due to the fact that my class was held at a poolside stage and guests were still sleeping!! (A few times I could barely hear the lyrics!!) There was another zumba instructor on staff who had a 4pm time slot and and water aerobics team of 6 or 7 that totally rocked the noon pool hour! I actually felt a little bit like my attendance there was stepping on some toes! My 8am class Zumba was not added to the activities schedule until Mid week, (and my fliers were also not distributed), so I had a difficult time getting participants to class.... I started to encourage guests that I met at the beach, pool, etc...to come to my class the following morning! I made a few friends along the way, and even had a couple tell me that they were going to continue to take zumba classes when they returned home! I've had incredible teaching experiences at every resort I've traveled to in the last 6 or 7 years! And this particular resort had an exceptional beach and ocean frontage, exceptional staff and was the cleanest resort I've ever visited
Deborah Hirsch
May 5th, 2018 10:03:32pm
taught here Oct.15-22, 2017. great food, top notch Explorer's Club kept my 5 yo son totally enthralled, great evening entertainment. rooms left a bit to be desired - small and rarely serviced (maybe 3X the whole week), even when we called to request service. classes were sparsely attended at 8 am. but nice to have the rest of the day free. did one special extra class at 9 a.m. for a private group. originally they had me doing Zumba, which nobody wants to do at that early of an hour, so I quickly suggested switching to yoga & pilates. for early am I think this is definitely the way to go. I also really enjoyed teaching aquacize at noon the first full day I was there - the entertainment staff joined in and got everyone engaged. BUT I was a little put off bc they basically said it was too "good" of a workout and that their boss wanted them to do more games w people, not actual aqua fitness. what I observed when they led the class the following days - a bunch of arm movements mostly OUT of the water bc the pool is only about 4 feet deep and not really adequate for aqua fitness, and then a lot of banter in between some races, finished off with everyone making a circle and having every other person float as they spin around. my main complaint is that if they wanted me to teach in their style -more games than actual fitness, which I could have easily done - they should have asked me to observe them teaching one day before having me take on the whole thing. I had a great time teaching that one aqua class and the guests seemed to enjoy it as well, so I was very disappointed when they basically said it was too much of a real workout (!!) and didn't even ask me to adapt/join them over the rest of the week. I have been teaching aqua for 6+ years in various styles, so you can imagine how insulting this seemed, even though I'm sure they didn't mean to come across that way. Luis was extremely nice and, since I speak Spanish, I got to know him pretty well when we were setting up for classes in the am. I also appreciated that they let me take one day off so that I could do an excursion with my family. I taught two classes on another day to make up for that.
Julie
Feb 6th, 2018 3:37:59pm
One class daily 8am - 9am. Participants averaged 6-8, which was perfect for the size of the space and number of mats. I taught a Gentle Yoga Stretch (combination of stretching, restorative poses, and vinyasa flow). I loved the one class daily as at other resorts, my second class (later morning) was never well-attended. Plus the earlier time was perfect so no sun shining in eyes during yoga, but late enough that vacationers can sleep in. And, of course, left me with more time with my daughter. Participants and Staff were amazing! We had perfect weather except one day where we had to move yoga a little inland. It was very windy. We spent half our time fixing our mats, but all had a laugh about it and enjoyed our time regardless. There were a couple classes where I had a spanish speaking participant who did not know english. I had help from Luis, staff member, but I plan to learn enough spanish so I can teach yoga next time. I felt bad that I could not communicate to my two precious ladies. (Things like: Left, Right, Arm, leg, inhale, exhale - basic commands for yoga) Luis did join us every day for yoga - which I appreciated. It gave us an opportunity to connect more with staff. I also loved that you could walk off the property and be in the shops of Cancun. That was a fun adventure. The beach at this property was beautiful and perfect. We spent all day, every day there. Food was top notch with lots of variety. The shows were excellent and fun. We had a blast! I definitely would like to go back to this resort.
Christy Erwin
Jan 28th, 2018 9:20:50pm
I had a wonderful teaching experience. The entertainment team is wonderful. I taught at 8:00 a.m. a stretch/yoga class and I taught a few routines during their aqua time at noon. I had the best time and loved every minute.
Ramona
Aug 30th, 2017 8:43:39pm
Once again a great experience with Fit Bodies. This was my second Dreams as I brought my niece and sister with me. It is a smaller resort which I liked. The Main Pool is a big square and shallow, wonderful for kids. The beach is small but it is so calm and the water warm and clear. We went kayaking with my niece and on the catamaran twice. It is all included. The rooms are lovely and they gave us an ocean front room with a balcony. I cannot say enough about the staff. All of them were just fantastic. The E-team are amazing!! (Luis, Yun, Antonio, Karla and Pit Bull). Luis the head of entertainment took my yoga class each morning at 8am. It was low season so I had between 3-8 participants. They do need more mats as I often had to give mine up (not that I minded). I brought my own music which they hooked up to their speaker. A lovely venue to practice over looking both the beach and pool. The food was endless! The café made crepes all afternoon which my niece enjoyed often. A sushi restaurant was open at lunch as well as a taco bar and outdoor bbq! If you wanted to eat inside you could go to Olio or the Buffet, both great! The dinner restaurants were all great. I did not go to the adults only or Mexican. My favourite was the Asian Fusion. Amazing Sushi and pad thai. The activities during the day were plentiful and fun. Water aerobics, bingo, bocce ball, Olympics, dance lessons, etc. We saw a few shows but went to bed early most nights. An eight year old can really wear you out! A huge thank you to Lisa and Suzelle for all your hard work. Ramona If you have any questions please email me at [email protected]
Melanie Walters
Aug 4th, 2017 2:36:37pm
Fabulous week! I am still here through 8/6/17. One Pilates class each am at 8am, I've had anywhere from 4-9 participants. Met with entertainment on day of arrival and they told me to teach on the stage poolside, which is also directly on the ocean. I did bring music, however they had a great mix already playing at around 7am. Louis took class each am, he is the main entertainment employee for the fitness classes. There is aqua class each day at noon, I jumped in today and taught for 15 minutes. Very high energy entertainment crew!! Our room was on the first floor with a direct ocean view, it was like looking at a photo every am. :). I traveled with my husband and son, plenty to do for a child!! I'm also 22 weeks pregnant, very polite staff and hospitality. Email me with any questions! [email protected]
Suzette H
Aug 2nd, 2017 12:10:15pm
: I taught each morning M-Sat at 8 am. I taught tabatas, HIIT and TRX classes.Great resort. Louis from entertainment was helpful in getting everything I needed for my class. He also participated most mornings. I brought a couple of TRX straps with me. There was a perfect tree to hang them off of. Great first teaching vacation.
Jen K
Jun 27th, 2017 10:19:41am
I taught a yoga stretch class every morning at 8 am. Luis, the entertainment director joined the class each morning. I had an average of 7-9 participants each morning. This was my second teaching vacation and both were great experiences. The staff was attentive and fun. I was treated like a queen and would go back again either there or to another resort.

Search Travel Spots

X

Dreams Sands Cancun Resort and Spa